Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance has announced the finalists for the 2018 Maine Literary Awards. The awards honor books published during 2017, as well as adult and youth manuscripts in drama, fiction, nonfiction and poetry. This year, 145 books were entered across the award’s categories.

The winners of the 2018 Maine Literary Awards will be revealed live at a ceremony on Thursday, June 14, at SPACE Gallery in downtown Portland. Doors open at 6 p.m. and the ceremony beings at 7 p.m. There will be hors d’oeuvres and a cash bar, and a bookseller will be on hand to sell books by the finalists. The event is free to MWPA members, with a suggested $5 donation for nonmembers.

2018 Maine Literary Awards finalists are listed below alphabetically by author:

Book Award for Fiction: “A Piece of the World” Christina Baker Kline, “What Longfellow Heard” Jon Nappa, “The Girl of the Lake” Bill Roorbach

Book Award for Crime Fiction: “Solo Time” Richard J. Cass, “Death Warmed Over” Kate Flora, “Wendigo” Vaughn Hardacker, “Deadly Trespass” Sandra Neily

Book Award for Speculative Fiction: “Ka” John Crowley, “American Ghost” Paul Guernsey, “Caveman at the End of the World” Brad Rau

Book Award for Nonfiction: “The Evangelicals” Frances Fitzgerald, “Blazing Ahead” Jeffrey H. Ryan, “The Passion of Perfection” June Vail

Book Award for Memoir: “Settling Twice” Deborah Joy Corey, “Redeeming Ruth” Meadow Merrill, “I Know It in My Heart: Walking Through Grief with a Child” Mary E. Plouffe

Book Award for Poetry: “Work by Bloodlight” Julia Bouwsma, “The Unfastening” Wesley McNair, “Lesser Eternities” Jim Glenn Thatcher

Book Award for Young People’s Literature: “Grit” Gillian French, “The Rattled Bones” S.M. Parker, “The Glass Town Game” Catherynne M. Valente

Book Award for Children’s: “Do Seals Ever…?” Fran Hodgkins, “Princess Sophie and the Six Swans” Kim Jacobs, “Pocket Full of Colors” Jacqueline Tourville

Book Award for Anthology (Editors): “3 Nations Anthology: Native, Canadian & New England” Valerie Lawson (Editor), “Northern Frights” D. Price (Editor), “Sparks” The Telling Room (Editors)

John N. Cole Award for Maine-themed Nonfiction: “One Man’s Maine” Jim Krosschell, “Where Edges Don’t Hold” Christina Marsden Gillis, “How to Eat Green Crab” Oliver Curtis

Excellence in Publishing: “Green Plate Special” Christine Burns Rudalevige (Islandport Press), “There Has to Be Magic” Donna Marie McNeil & Christina Shipps (Maine Authors Publishing), “A Man for All Oceans” (Tilbury House Publishers)

Drama Award (for film, theater, and other scripts): Michael D. Burke, Kathy M. Hooke, Martha Rice

Short Works Competition, Fiction: Zach Brockhouse, Anne Elliott, Jefferson Navicky

Short Works Competition, Nonfiction: Sarah Kilch Gaffney, Penny Guisinger, Leslie Moore

Short Works Competition, Poetry: Jefferson Navicky, Lee Sharkey, William Varner

Youth Competition, Fiction: Lexie Bugbee, Makena Deveraux, Sarah Dressel

Youth Competition, Nonfiction: Marisa Mizzoni, Ayub Mohamud, Mahnaz Seddiqi

Youth Competition, Poetry: Makena Deveraux, Wilson Haims, Anita Woofender