Maine has three elections and multiple party caucuses scheduled this year. Here’s a brief overview of the dates and candidates:

F E B R U A R Y   8

  • Waldo County Republican caucus - 9 a.m., Belfast Area High School, Belfast

F E B R U A R Y   29

  • Knox County Republican caucus - 9 a.m., Rockland Middle School, 30 Broadway, Rockland
  • Lincoln County Republican caucus - noon, Great Salt Bay School, Damariscotta

M A R C H   3

  • Presidential primary and special state referendum election
  • Because of the ballot measure, this election is open to all registered voters, including those who are unenrolled. Voters will pick presidential candidates and vote on Question 1. This will not be a ranked-choice election.
  • Four Republican candidates are running for president but only President Donald Trump will be on the primary ballot in Maine. Democrats will choose from 10 candidates: Joe Biden, Michael Bloomberg, Pete Buttigieg, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren and Andrew Yang.
  • Ballot Question 1 is a people’s veto referendum on a bill passed in 2019 that removed religious and philosophical exemptions for school vaccinations. A “yes” vote would restore the original exemptions, allowing parents to opt their children out of required school vaccinations without a medical reason. A “no” vote would maintain the current law, which was enacted in response to outbreaks of whooping cough in Maine and other preventable diseases nationally, along with low vaccination rates in some Maine counties.

M A R C H   8

  • Democratic Party caucuses - venues by municipality

J U N E   9

  • Primary election for Maine Legislature, U.S. House and Senate. Ranked-choice voting will be used. This primary election is for registered Democrats and Republicans. The Green Independent Party opted not to participate.
  • Voters will choose from their party’s candidates for U.S. Senate, both of Maine’s congressional districts, the state Senate and House of Representatives (state candidate registrations close at 5 p.m. Monday, March 16), and some county offices.

U.S. Senate

  • Republicans: Sen. Susan Collins (incumbent), Derek Levasseur
  • Democrats: Michael Bunker, Sara Gideon, Bre Kidman, Ross LaJeunesse, Cathleen London, Betsy Sweet, Jonathan Treacy

U.S. House 1st District

  • Democrats: Rep. Chellie Pingree (incumbent)
  • Republicans: Jay Allen

U.S. House 2nd District

  • Democrats: Rep. Jared Golden (incumbent)
  • Republicans: Adrienne Bennett, Eric Brakey, Dale Crafts, John Hiatt

N O V E M B E R   3

  • General Election — President, U.S. House and Senate, Maine Legislature, some county offices and qualifying ballot measures (deadline February 3). Ranked-choice voting will be used.