At an awards ceremony on June 14, hosted at SPACE in Portland, Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance revealed the winners of the 2018 Maine Literary Awards.

This year, 145 books were entered across the award’s categories, more than 70 manuscripts were submitted into the award’s Short Works Competition, and nearly 40 Maine students submitted work in the award’s Youth Competition.

The Maine Literary Awards is an annual competition sponsored and coordinated by the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance. Nominations were open to all Maine residents, including seasonal residents. The statewide competition is for published books, as well as drama, short works (either published or unpublished), and student writing.

The 2018 winners are:

Book Award for Fiction: “A Piece of the World,” Christina Baker Kline, Southwest Harbor;

Book Award for Crime Fiction: “In Solo Time,” Richard J. Cass, Cape Elizabeth;

Book Award for Speculative Fiction: “Ka,” John Crowley, N/A;

Book Award for Nonfiction: “The Evangelicals,” Frances Fitzgerald, N/A;

Book Award for Memoir: “Redeeming Ruth,” Meadow Merrill, Richmond;

Book Award for Poetry: “Work by Bloodlight,” Julia Bouwsma, New Portland;

Book Award for Young People’s Literature: “Grit,” Gillian French, Hermon;

Book Award for Children’s: “Pocket Full of Colors,” Jacqueline Tourville, N/A;

Book Award for Anthology (Editors): “3 Nations Anthology: Native, Canadian & New England,” Valerie Lawson (Editor), Robbinston;

John N. Cole Award for Maine-Themed Nonfiction: “One Man’s Maine,” Jim Krosschell, N/A;

Excellence in Publishing: “There Has to Be Magic,” Donna Marie McNeil & Christina Shipps, Portland (Maine Authors Publishing, Thomaston);

Drama Award (for film, theater, and other scripts): Michael D. Burke, Wilton;

Short Works Competition, Fiction: Zach Brockhouse, Portland;

Short Works Competition, Nonfiction: Leslie Moore, Belfast;

Short Works Competition, Poetry: Lee Sharkey, Portland;

Youth Competition, Fiction: Makena Deveraux, Cape Elizabeth High School;

Youth Competition, Nonfiction: Ayub Mohamud, The Telling Room; Youth Competition, Poetry: Wilson Haims, Maine Coast Waldorf.

Special Awards:

2018 Book Donation Recipient — Millinocket Memorial Library will receive a copy of every book nominated to this year’s awards.

2018 MWPA Distinguished Achievement Award — Presented by Richard Russo to Monica Wood for exceptional and steadfast contributions to the Maine literary arts.